Safe Browsing

The “Emergency Exit” button

The Emergency Exit button is available on the right side of all pages throughout LegalAve to help protect your privacy as you browse. The button is useful when browsing LegalAve on a public or shared computer.

How it works

Click on the red, rectangular part of the Emergency Exit button from anywhere on the website when you feel that you can no longer browse privately or safely. The browser will redirect you to www.google.ca, a neutral website.

When you click on the white part of the button (which has the “?”), it will take you to this Safe Browsing page.

Be Aware

The Emergency Exit button only works for the browser tab you are currently on. It does not close any other windows or tabs that you have open. While browsing LegalAve you may have to open more than one window or tab. If you think you might need to use the Emergency Exit, keep only one tab or window open at a time. You should be careful to manually close all tabs that you opened as well as the tab you are currently on.

 

 

Keeping yourself safe while browsing online

A computer stores information about every website you visit and things that you do online.

It is impossible to completely remove all of this information. The Emergency Exit button cannot do that. The following resources provide tips to help you stay safe while browsing online.

If you are afraid someone is monitoring your internet/computer usage, please:

  • Use a safer computer (for example: at a local library, internet café, at a friend’s house, or at work).
  • Call your local hotline.
  • Check below to find out how you can delete your browser history and/or browse in “Incognito/Private Mode.”

 

How to delete your browser history

Your browser keeps track of all your movements online, such as what sites you’re visiting and  what you’re searching, downloading, and viewing. There is no way to completely remove your internet activities from your browser. The best thing you can do to cover your tracks online is to manually delete your browser history. Click on the hyperlinked icons below to find out how you can do this for the browser you use.

Google Chrome Icon on LegalAve.ca      Internet Explorer Icon on LegalAve.ca      Firefox Icon on LegalAve.ca      Safari Icon on LegalAve.ca  Opera Icon on LegalAve.ca 

 

How to browse in Incognito/Private Mode

Incognito or Private Mode is another way to browse the web if you don’t want your activities to be detected. Click on the hyperlinked icons below to find out how you can browse in Incognito/Private Mode in the browser you use.

Google Chrome Icon on LegalAve.ca      Internet Explorer Icon on LegalAve.ca      Firefox Icon on LegalAve.ca      Safari Icon on LegalAve.ca  Opera Icon on LegalAve.ca 

 

What gets deleted when you close your browser after browsing in Incognito/Private Mode:

  • Web pages you visit
  • Information you type into forms and search bars when you visit a page
  • Passwords
  • Files you download
  • Cookies (Cookies are small files that websites put on your computer’s hard disk drive when you first visit the site. Cookies store information about you and your preferences, and let the website know when you have returned.)
  • Temporary files (Your browser uses a temporary file to store data for every web page you visit so that it can load the page more quickly whenever you visit it.)
  • Browsing history

 

What gets saved when you close your browser after browsing in Incognito/Private Mode:

  • New bookmarks you add or changes old ones
  • Changes you make to your browser;general settings
  • Any files you save to your computer
  • A website you visit may keep a record of your visit
Feedback